Upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in
Lawyers Association of Kansas City 

Legal Aid Seeks Nominations For Hon. H. Michael Coburn Community Service Award

08 Sep 2016 6:51 PM | Anonymous

The selection committee for the Coburn Award is seeking nominations for Legal Aid of Western Missouri’s Honorable H. Michael Coburn Community Service Award. This award was created in 1995. The Committee will select an award winner whose noble work and honorable efforts in service to the community will serve as an inspiration to others in the legal profession.


  • Current member of the Missouri Bar practicing in the Jackson County area.
  • Demonstrated, in the spirit of Legal Aid, outstanding service to advancing the administration of justice on behalf of low-income people in the Jackson County area.
  • Outstanding service to the community with a particular emphasis on volunteer activity and leadership, other than work directly for bar associations (pro bono case work on behalf of low-income people that is done through a bar association may be considered).

The Procedure:

The nomination form, along with appropriate supporting materials. Applications must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 4, 2016 by The Coburn Community Service Award Committee, c/o Legal Aid of Western Missouri, 1125 Grand Avenue, Suite 1900, Kansas City, Missouri, 64106. Applications may also be submitted on-line to glombardi@lawmo.org. Any questions should be directed by e-mail to Gregg Lombardi at glombardi@lawmo.org.

Deadline for nominations to be received by Legal Aid is 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 8, 2016.

Download a nomination form.

Past Coburn Award Recipients Include:

2015 Pat Stueve
201 Suzy Block
2013 Steve Chinn
2012 Dale Irwin
2011 Denise Henning
2010 Janeen deVries
2009 Charley German
2008 James Heeter
2007 Matthew J. O’Connor
2006 Richard W. Miller
2005 Lisa Gentleman
2004 Honorable Jon Gray
2003 Courtney Koger
2002 Honorable Justine Del Muro
2001 C. Patrick McLarney
2000 John Kurtz
1999 John Johnston
1998 Honorable Christine Sill-Rogers
1997 Elaine Drodge Koch
1996 Honorable Hal Lowenstein
1995 Bronwyn Werner

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software