Upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in
Lawyers Association of Kansas City 

LAKC Presents Legacy Award to Kent Erickson

28 Jun 2017 8:00 AM | Anonymous

LAKC presented its Legacy Award to Kent R. Erickson during its annual Judicial Reception on Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at the Kill Devil Club. In 2007, the LAKC Board of Directors established the Legacy Award to recognize an individual for his or her significant and enduring contributions to the LAKC and its mission. Prior recipients include Sylvan Siegler, Stanley P. Weiner and B. John Readey III. The meaningful and lasting service Kent has provided to the LAKC clearly meets this key criterion.

Kent R. Erickson practices in the field of intellectual property law, focusing primarily on the acquisition, registration, maintenance and enforcement of patents, trademarks and copyrights for his clients, with particular emphasis on U.S. and foreign patent prosecution in the mechanical and chemical arts. Mr. Erickson is a registered patent attorney and is licensed to practice in Missouri and Kansas.

Mr. Erickson graduated cum laude in 1986 with his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Missouri-Rolla and received his law degree from the University of Kansas in 1990. He has taken an active role in the legal community, serving as President for the Lawyers Association of Kansas City from 2007-08. In addition, Mr. Erickson founded and continues to organize LAKC's annual IP CLE program. Mr. Erickson was also one of the founding organizers of LAKC's Run for Justice 5K, which raises funds annually for Legal Aid of Western Missouri. Mr. Erickson has previously served as the Chair of the Patent, Trademark & Copyright Committee for both the Missouri Bar and for the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association, as a member of The Missouri Bar Young Lawyers Council, as a director and as President of the Young Lawyers Section of the Lawyers Association of Kansas City and as Vice Chair of the Ethics and Professionalism Committee of the American Bar Association’s Young Lawyer Division.

Pictured L to R: Catherine Bell, LAKC President-Elect; Mike Hargens, LAKC President; Kent Erickson, LAKC Legacy Award Recipient; Gregg Lombardi, LAKC member; Anne Baggott, LAKC Board of Directors.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software